The wall

Deuxieme chapitre

Jean Cocteau is one of the artists who has shaped the French cultural landscape the most in the 20th century. He considered himself above all a poet, and his graphic, graceful and mysterious talent is known throughout the world. His work is considerable and timeless. Its creativity and modernity is a source of inexhaustible inspiration.
We are very proud to be able to pay tribute to him and to share his poetic and singular universe through a collection of Lelièvre wallpapers, all conceived from original works.

6461

ÉMAIL

A motif inspired by the original work LEsprit minéral of 1962, a 33 cm diameter plate in red earth with anthracite grey engobe, white oxide pencil, encrusted with coral, yellow and brilliant night blue enamels. Its geometric forms offer a nice matte/shiny contrast that reproduces the look of the original ceramic. This ultra graphic wallpaper was created in rotogravure on non-woven backing.

View fabric page

Colours number

3

6463

JOYAUX

All-over motif conceived as a fantastic and mysterious cabinet of curiosities... Eleven of the most iconic jewels made by Cocteau can be found illustrated here: jewellery brooches Eurydice, Profil bleu, Faune à la barbiche, Le lézard, Lil, brooch Orphée à la lyre, Le poisson, Le chat, club des amis des chats, lapel pins Le Boudeur and Profile.

View fabric page

Colours number

2

6470

CAP D'AIL

This motif is based on the famous Cap Dail ceramics of 1963 made in black and emerald green enamelled white earth and then white earth almond green and blue Sèvres enamel engobe. Greek-inspired in the manner of the Cap dAil open-air theatre, this motif symbolises the fusion of sky and earth on a plant background. This wallpaper is printed in rotogravure on a non-woven backing with satin effect background.

View fabric page

Colours number

4

This motif recalls the sumptuous plant decor of the walls of the Saint-Blaise des Simples chapel in Milly la Forêt painted by Jean Cocteau. To pay tribute to Saint-Blaise, a famous healer who used medicinal plants, then called simple, he pitched beautiful flowering stems like a giant herbarium onto the walls of the chapel, rising into the sky like a prayer. We have respected the remarkable scale of these flowers by creating a wallpaper that can reach into infinity as a panoramic. This paper is digitally printed on a non-woven backing with matte finish.

View fabric page

Colours number

1

A fresh and delicate all-over motif that is very representative of Jean Cocteaus work. He frequently evoked the human need to attribute a human face to the absolute, particularly through the use of angelic representations. This wallpaper is created in silkscreen on non woven backing with a matte finish. A slight relief along the line of the angel contrasts with an elegant glittery light on the small background pattern.

View fabric page

Colours number

3

6468

UNION

This all-over motif is inspired by the Jeunesse Franco - Allemande of 1963, a 36 cm diameter plate cut in white earth with black, yellow, blue, orange, green and red enamels. This wallpaper is printed traditionally on non-woven media with a matte finish, its relief effects reminiscent of the thick enamels of the original work.

View fabric page

Colours number

4

Composition of several drawings of sleepers, including Raymond Radiguet in 1922, this all-over motif is printed as a monochrome toile de Jouy. The toile de Jouy represents traditional everyday scenes, Les Dormeurs suggesting a languorous daily life, of which Jean Cocteau was adept. He said Dreams are the literature of sleep. This wallpaper is printed in rotogravure on a vinyl embossed master canvas print, matte finish.

View fabric page

Colours number

3

6467

POTERIES

Large illusion motif with a selection of ceramics and pottery typical of the work of Jean Cocteau. All the works represented form part of the some 300 pieces created by Jean Cocteau at the Madeline-Jolly pottery in Villefranche-sur-Mer from the end of 1957 until 1963. This wallpaper is digitally printed on a vinyl backing with a slightly grained embossing with a matte finish. The two colours do not show the same works.

View fabric page

Colours number

2

6465

ÉCRITURE

An all-over motif that incorporates Jean Cocteaus most famous original work Ecriture, dessin, peinture, langage from 1959, that brings together all the facets of his talent. The artist, poet and painter said Poets do not draw. They undo writing and then redo it another way. This wallpaper is printed in rotogravure on an embossed vinyl with a light grain to the touch and a matte finish.

View fabric page

Colours number

3

A light and refined all-over motif, like a faux-unicolour, inspired by the original work Tous les visages quil aime se ressemblent from 1935, pencil illustration for an edition of his novel Les enfants terribles, this line drawing of faces is ever present in Cocteaus work, because for him pour exprimer son âme, on na que son visage (we have just the face to expose the soul).It is printed on vinyl paper with a slight grain to the touch, matte finish. The variants are two-toned.

View fabric page

Colours number

3

A motif inspired by the work Double visage dange, a drawing on paper in India ink. Here Jean Cocteau explores what he calls graphic poetry. The elegance of this design is highlighted in silkscreen by a simple black line flocked on a satin non-woven backing.

View fabric page

Colours number

1

The wall

Deuxieme chapitre

Jean Cocteau est l’un des artistes ayant le plus marqué le paysage culturel Français du 20e siècle.
S’il se considérait avant tout poète, son trait, à la fois graphique, gracieux et mystérieux, est connu dans le monde entier. Son œuvre est considérable et intemporelle et sa créativité, sa modernité sont une source d’inspiration inépuisable.
Nous sommes très fiers de pouvoir lui rendre hommage et de faire partager son univers poétique et singulier à travers une collection de papiers peints Lelièvre, tous imaginés à partir d’œuvres originales.

6461

ÉMAIL

Un motif inspiré de la céramique originale « L'Esprit minéral » de 1962, plateau de 33 cm de diamètre en terre rouge avec engobe gris anthracite, crayon d'oxyde blanc, incrusté d'émaux corail, jaune et bleu nuit brillant. Ses formes géométriques offrent un joli contraste mat / brillant laqué qui reproduit l'aspect de la céramique originale. Ce papier peint ultra graphique a été réalisé en rotogravure sur intissé.

Voir la fiche détaillée

Nombre de coloris

3

6463

JOYAUX

Motif all-over pensé comme un cabinet de curiosités poétique et mystérieux Onze des bijoux les plus emblématiques réalisés par Cocteau se retrouvent ici illustrés : bijoux broches « Eurydice », « Profil bleu », « Faune à la barbiche » de 1962, « Le lézard », « Lil », « Orphée à la lyre », « Le poisson » (doré), « Le chat » de 1997, « Club des amis des chats », épinglettes « Le Boudeur » et « Profile » de 1997.

Voir la fiche détaillée

Nombre de coloris

2

6470

CAP D'AIL

Ce motif reprend la célèbre céramique « Cap D'ail » de 1963 réalisée en terre blanche émaux noir et vert d'émeraude puis en terre blanche engobe vert amande et émail bleu de Sèvres. D'inspiration Grecque comme le théâtre en plein air du Cap d'Ail, ce motif symboliserait la fusion du ciel et de la terre sur fond végétal. Ce papier peint est imprimé en rotogravure sur un intissé avec effet satiné en contre-fond.

Voir la fiche détaillée

Nombre de coloris

4

Ce motif reprend les somptueux décors végétaux des murs de la chapelle Saint-Blaise des Simples à Milly-la-Forêt peints par Jean Cocteau. Afin de rendre hommage à Saint-Blaise, guérisseur réputé qui se servaient de plantes médicinales, alors appelées « simples », il jeta alors sur les murs de la chapelle, tel un herbier géant, de magnifiques tiges fleuries qui montent comme une prière vers le ciel. Nous avons respecté l'échelle remarquable de ces fleurs en créant un papier peint pouvant se raccorder à l'infini comme un panoramique. Ce papier est imprimé en digital sur un support intissé en finition mate.

Voir la fiche détaillée

Nombre de coloris

1

Un motif all-over délicat, très représentatif de l'oeuvre de Jean Cocteau et qui s'inspire de son dessin « Figure d'ange ». Il évoquait fréquemment le besoin qu'a l'homme d'attribuer un visage humain à l'absolu par le biais notamment des représentations angéliques. Ce papier peint est réalisé en sérigraphie sur support intissé avec une finition mate. Un léger relief sur le trait de l'ange contraste avec une élégante lumière pailletée sur le petit motif du contre-fond.

Voir la fiche détaillée

Nombre de coloris

3

6468

UNION

Ce motif all-over est inspiré de la céramique « Jeunesse Franco - Allemande » de 1963, une coupe de 36 cm de diamètre en terre blanche avec émaux noir, jaune, bleu, orange, vert et rouge. Ce papier peint est imprimé de façon traditionnelle sur support intissé avec finition mate, ses effets reliéfés évoquent l'épaisseur des émaux de luvre originale.

Voir la fiche détaillée

Nombre de coloris

4

Composition de plusieurs dessins de dormeurs, dont Raymond Radiguet en 1922, ce motif all-over est imprimé comme une toile de Jouy en monochrome. La toile de Jouy représente traditionnellement des scènes du quotidien, « Les Dormeurs » suggère un quotidien langoureux, dont Jean Cocteau était adepte. Il disait « Les rêves sont la littérature du sommeil ». Ce papier peint est imprimé en rotogravure sur un vinyle au gaufrage impression toile de maître, finition mate.

Voir la fiche détaillée

Nombre de coloris

3

6467

POTERIES

Grand motif en trompe-l'oeil reprenant une sélection de céramiques et poteries emblématiques de l'oeuvre de Jean Cocteau. Toutes les oeuvres représentées font partie des quelques 300 pièces exécutées de son vivant à la poterie Madeline-Jolly de Villefranche-sur-Mer de la fin de l'année 1957 jusqu'en 1963. Ce papier peint est imprimé en digital sur un support vinyle avec un gaufrage légèrement grainé à la finition mate. Les 2 coloris ne reprennent pas les mêmes oeuvres.

Voir la fiche détaillée

Nombre de coloris

2

6465

ÉCRITURE

Un motif all-over qui reprend l'oeuvre originale la plus célèbre de Jean Cocteau « Écriture, dessin, peinture, langage » de 1959 résumant à elle seule toutes les facettes de son talent. L'artiste, poète et peintre disait « Les poètes ne dessinent pas. Ils dénouent l'écriture et la renouent ensuite autrement. ». Ce papier peint est imprimé en rotogravure sur un vinyle gaufré avec un léger grain au toucher et une finition mate.

Voir la fiche détaillée

Nombre de coloris

3

Un motif all-over léger et raffiné, comme un faux-uni, inspiré de l'oeuvre originale « Tous les visages qu'il aime se ressemblent » de 1935, illustration au crayon pour une édition de son roman « Les enfants terribles ». Ce dessin au trait de visages est très présent dans toute l'oeuvre de Cocteau car pour lui « pour exprimer son âme, on n'a que son visage ». Il est imprimé sur papier vinyle avec un léger grain au toucher, finition mate. Les variantes sont bicolores.

Voir la fiche détaillée

Nombre de coloris

3

Un motif inspiré de l'oeuvre « Double visage d'ange », un dessin à l'encre de Chine sur papier. Jean Cocteau explore ici ce qu'il appelle la « poésie graphique ». L'élégance de ce dessin est sublimé en sérigraphie par un simple trait noir flocké sur un support intissé satiné.

Voir la fiche détaillée

Nombre de coloris

1